Silly Obstacles

I stopped writing for a while.  I couldn’t figure out why as I really enjoyed doing it.  And for the most part I appreciated the comments and the feedback I received from the 3 people that read my posts and commented.  But for some reason I just couldn’t bring myself to continue with the endeavor.  And it was really bugging me that I couldn’t pinpoint the cause or the event that precipitated my ceasing to put fingers to keys (the modern day version of pen to paper I guess!).  I let it sit for a really long time and didn’t do anything about it.  I didn’t even think about the issue, or so I thought.  It was never far from my brain.  I’d ruled out having nothing to say because honey I ALWAYS have something to say.  Just ask my closest friends and family.  I’m sure they’d admit under their breath and out of my hearing that me having nothing to say would be a refreshing change of pace.  But there you have it, I’m a talker.  And a writer.

So what was with this aversion all of the sudden?  After cogitating (see Willie Shakespeare, I can make up words too!) on it for several weeks, ok months I know, I think I may have figured it out.  And it’s a situation that isn’t going to go away, especially if I have the kind of career I want to have going forward.  The details of the issue aren’t important.  What is key here is realizing I was letting someone stop me from expressing myself fully.  That’s an old behavior I thought I’d put on the shelf long ago.  Apparently not.  I was surprised it reared back up but there you have it.  It’s back and needs to be dealt with.  And the pen needs to be put to paper once again.

15 Responses to “Silly Obstacles”

  1. George Washington III Says:

    I’ve had the pleasure to say to you in person how much I enjoy your writing, and I wanted to let you know how happy I was to see your posts come back. Go get ’em, Pam, and thanks for putting pen back to paper.

  2. Eddie Dawonderful Says:

    Pam, you need to read this. You might have a ‘Liverpool’ connection 🙂
    clinky linky:
    http://dawonderful.blogspot.com/2011/04/late.html

  3. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    It’s really good to see you writing again! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, opinions and insights with us. You do indeed always have something to say. Pretty much always it’s something useful, helpful or insightful. On those rare occasions when it’s not, we’re big kids and can figure out what to take and what to leave behind. Go for it!

    Be well,
    Bob

  4. erin maurer Says:

    Pammy,
    I love your writing! Keep it up!
    xoxo,
    ET

  5. Liz de Nesnera-Native/Bilingual English/French VO Says:

    Did you say something 😉
    LUV ya! ❤
    Peace!

    Liz

  6. Cris Dukehart Says:

    “There are thousands of thoughts lying within a man that he does not know till he takes up the pen and writes.” ~William Makepeace Thackeray
    I, for one, am near silly with anticipation at the idea of what jewels and wonders might lie within you.
    squeeze,
    Cris

  7. Stacie Moncrief Says:

    Pam,

    Funny, I was just thinking that I hadn’t seen your blog posts in a while, and then you popped up with 3 or 4 of them. Glad you’re back! Guess you need to up your reader count to 4 or 5, at least.

  8. terrybmc Says:

    Glad to have you back!


Leave a Reply

