A Well Deserved Kick in the Rear

Seth Godin’s blog is something I read every day and have mentioned to here several times.  I have to say this guy’s writing is so on the mark.  He makes very relevant points more often than not and puts out an incredibly consistent amount of good content.  The consistent part is what I truly admire.

Today’s post was another home run.  He talks about the world’s worst boss.  And he’s telling me to point the finger right back at myself.  When I did, I didn’t like what I saw.  After reviewing my work this past week, I think I would have fired me, or at least put me on probation.  My organization, time management, productivity and employee (me) development was mediocre at best.  The only thing I have going for me is the amount of hours I put in.  But many of those hours were spent cruising websites and tracking down obscure info that really couldn’t be mistaken for revenue producing activity.  When I was managing, I would look very hard at my employees when they were goofing off for long periods of time.  Sure there were times that we were slower than molasses and this helped balance the crazier-than-a-loon’s-nest times.  And I am not inhuman enough to recognize the need to unwind a bit after an intense amount of activity.

But, I can honestly say I haven’t had that insane amount of activity lately, certainly not on a consistent basis.  I haven’t really earned the right to goof off as much as I’ve been allowing myself to.  My lack of planning my day has left me to flit from activity to activity in a very unfocused way with the results being haphazard at best.  To be fair, I have launched a major project that has taken much of my time and attention these past few weeks.  I’m starring in and co-producing a web series called Mags N Mel.  It’s my first time producing anything and it’s been overwhelming with all the details to take care of.  But we are only shooting 1 day a week over several weeks which is a very manageable shoot schedule.  Although I’m not getting paid (cheap producers!), this is an important project in that it has made me eligible to join the Screen Actor’s Union.

What I haven’t been focusing on are projects and auditions that will directly result in generating revenue.  And I knew what I was doing.  I wasn’t being honest with myself and calling a spade a spade.

So now that I know what I’m doing, the real key is to not continue the behavior.  They say the first step to recovery is to recognize the bad behavior.  The bigger second step is to not repeat the behavior expecting a different result.  That’s the difficult part.  First I have to get this big boot out of my rear though.

4 Responses to “A Well Deserved Kick in the Rear”

  1. David Sigmon Says:

    The same light bulb went off in my head when I read his posting yesterday. And it was very timely. I wish he had written it earlier.

  2. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    We all tend to be easier on ourselves than we should be (Seth’s main point); but at the same time we all tend to be too hard on ourselves. It’s essentially impossible for us to look at our own lives in any kind of objective way. So, the flurry of activity you’re caught up in right now with this video series needs to be done. True, this flurry doesn’t have any immediate and positive effect your bottom line, but you’re sowing seeds and laying the foundation for what is to come.

    It takes both. Embrace what you’re doing now without reservation. And when the flurry abates, get back to pursuing more immediate paychecks.

    Be well,
    Bob

  3. The Truth Will Set You Free « Pam Tierney's blog Says:

    […] I wrote a post that was inspired by another blog written by Seth Godin.  In it, I was pretty harsh with my self […]


Leave a Reply

