Living Through It All Again

It’s been a really tough couple of weeks.  My focus has been awful, sleep has been interrupted at best, my emotions all over the place, I can’t write anything for lack of concentration and my productivity non-existent.  It started in a subtle way and was hardly noticeable but before I knew it the wheels had come completely off the bus and it was a train wreck of chaos.   I couldn’t figure out what was wrong.  Maybe it was the change in the seasons.  After all, we’ve been living with tropical storm winds for over 72 hours now and it was starting to get on my nerves.  Maybe it was my moon was in Virgo and Pisces was in retrograde.  Maybe it was my biorhythms (remember those?!)

Whatever it was I kept plowing ahead feeling like I had a lead shoes on my feet and a kryptonite helmet on my head.  Nothing was coming very easy.  Everything was a challenge.  It was really starting to get to me.

But last night I was awoken yet again at around 4:09amish but this time I remembered the dream I was dreaming just before I woke up.  I was being laid off all over again.  There were a few minor details that weren’t the same, like for some reason my Mom was with me and what I was cleaning out of my files included lots of bags of vegetables and a squashed PB&J sammie which I never took to work, but everything else was the same.  Except for one vital thing, this time I wasn’t happy to be leaving to start my new life, this time I was anxious and worried.

AHA!  Finally some enlightenment.  You see the past several weeks I’ve been looking for new health insurance.  I stayed on my old plan because it was really good and surprisingly wasn’t super expensive.  But now I’m making the last break with my old life and it’s a biggie.  I never realized how difficult it is to compare and select plans because for so many years I just picked between the 2 plans my job offered.  Now I’m having to do all the leg work and evaluation by myself and apparently I’m a lot more anxious about this than I thought I was.  What a relief to finally realize what was holding me back and to identify the dark cloud in my mind.

I think I’ve found a few plans that I’m interested in.  Once I get that done I’ll be able to get back to my new life with excitement, hope and energy.  It’s funny how something can weigh on you and you don’t even know it.  But it sure is great to figure it out and take the boogy out of the boogy man.

4 Responses to “Living Through It All Again”

  1. Susan Says:

    Hi Pam,

    I just went through this very same thing, trying to look at all the benefits the different plans were offering. Finally ended up comparing the paragraphs of what they excluded, and whether I needed those items or not. First time we have been off of a group plan.

    Cheers, Susan

  2. Rich Owen Says:

    Pam,
    You are such a beautiful, intelligent, caring, thoughtful person whose clearly is on the right path to success and happiness; don’t let the “devil” of self-doubt worm his evil way into your world. Think of it: He’s not even brave enough to come at you in the daylight but has to resort to invading your dreams to cause you pain. Enough! Think of the cartoon with the angel on one should and the devil on the other. Whenever you are feeling sluggish and out of sorts, just remember that the devil is doing the talking to your subconscience and wrecking havoic with you. Just flick him off your shoulder and continue on your journey in high spirits!
    Love ya!
    Rich


Leave a Reply

