Unplugging

One of the great things about technology is how it furthers our lives and our work.  Information is at our fingertips, clients can be contacted at any time; jobs can be received or sent out all over the world with the touch of a button.  It amazes me when I think of how short the time span has been since cell phones and computers have been a part of our lives.  I can only imagine where it will lead us in the future.

But there is a downside to all these gadgets; at least for me.  I find that my concentration has flown the coop.  I flit from thing to thing not really accomplishing much of anything.  It’s made even worse if I’ve been out of town or am really busy with something.  I have the attention span of a gnat.  This only adds to the problem as I then get more and more anxious about things not getting done.  And it becomes a downward spiral or as I like to say, a water slide to H-E-double hockey sticks.

I remember when I was working in corporate and occasionally we’d have a power outage or the computers or phone system would go down.  I was released from my pre-determined course and could do anything.  Except now I didn’t have the tools to make it happen.  I didn’t know how to unplug my brain to just think about things and be quiet for a bit.

I’ve found a way to force myself to unplug and quiet my brain.  I’ve had to take several short trips out of state which involve driving.  Being in the car, usually with the radio off, allows my mind to unleash it’s creativity.  I’ve come up with some wonderful blog posts, business plans and creative ideas while driving that ribbon of highway.  But it’s an expensive way to mediate and there’s the sticky problem of paying attention to the road.  I need to find a way to quiet my mind without having to hit the accelerator.  Unplug from the gadgets and plug into my brain.

Leave a Reply

