Thousand Points of Light

One of my two favorite Brothers In Law (full disclosure, I only have 2!) co-opted a phrase a few years back in reference to my sister and myself.  It was back during the second Bush’s presidency and was taken from a speech he’d given on volunteerism.  President Bush made reference to all volunteers being a thousand points of light in the darkness of our world.

As I said, my BIL co-opted this phrase and used it when my sister and I would talk to each other.  One of the things I love about her is how fast she processes information.  She’s even faster than I am  – which of course I’m totally jealous of.  I’m so used to how fast we bang around topics that I am always taken by surprise when I meet someone who isn’t quite as adept.  It can be a bit challenging for those around us when we get started to keep up but boy is it fun when we are in full swing.  Lots of ground gets covered in those talks.  And we can switch gears midstream to a new topic, hence the thousand points of light reference, with ease and then pick up the old topic without a breath.  It truly is refreshing.  What’s really cool is her daughter is just like her and to watch her little brain work far beyond her years just blows me away.

We haven’t done that in a while.  Life, obligations and responsibilities often get in the way.  I miss it.  Maybe when things slow down we can get back to it.  I have this vision though that we’ll both be so deaf, we’ll just be having these lightening fast conversations at each other and not with each other.  That’s when I really pity those around us!

Leave a Reply

