I coulda been a…

Salesperson for a membrane leak testing company.  Really.

Recently I was on a flight traveling to a voiceover conference (FaffCon in case I haven’t mentioned it several times in the past) and the gentleman seated next to me was reviewing his presentation for a meeting he was travelling too.  Being the nibnose I am, I was looking over his shoulder at the Powerpoint and realized I was looking at lots of pictures of holes in roof membranes.  Pretty earth shattering stuff.  It made me think of all the jobs there are that are of necessary but mundane nature.  Airline fabric manufacturer, car battery supplier, subway train operator.  Necessary but hardly invoking passion.  I wondered if those people who held these jobs loved what they did.  You see, I’d just come off of a week of filming a television pilot, working with some very talented cast and crew on a hilarious script.  I had an absolute blast and though the days were very long and work challenging, the time just flew.  Before I knew it I’d been on set for 6 hours and it seemed liked I’d just arrived.  And now I was on my way to meet with a group of incredibly talented Voiceovers to share ideas on growing business and creatively collaborate.  I can’t tell you how lucky I felt.

Now I was in sales for many years.  I sold television time, or bathroom breaks as I like to call them.  That job could be considered necessary but mundane.  But it was in advertising and television and there was a bit of glamour attached to the job.  And for a long time I was passionate about it and got to the point where I’d call myself an expert at what I did.  I’m sure lots of people would consider my old job in the category of “how can she do that job?” but I liked it and it was fun.  And I’m sure my seatmate likes his job and considers it interesting.  In fact he even said so.  But as I sat there looking at his presentation I couldn’t help but be thankful for my life and my career.  I was doing something I absolutely love and how many people get to say that?

I’m pretty sure my seatmate will do fine with his presentation.  He was also reviewing on from a competitor and on one headline in a huge bolded font they’d misspelled the work “leak”.  For a minute there I thought we’d switched to onions.  Not so good for a membrane leek testing company.

Leave a Reply

