My New Favorite Place

It’s been a brutal summer in Chicago.  We’ve had 9 days over 90 degrees and the forecast is for 90’s through the next 8 days.  I really don’t like the heat at all which is why I live as north as I do.  I always say, you can put on a sweater if you get cold but you can only get so naked if you’re hot.  As a result of this heat and the accompanying humidity, I’ve become a bit of a hermit.  Really not going outside unless I had to.  But tonight I ventured up to my rooftop deck to water my plants-BTW if all these flowers are going to become cucumbers, I’ll be eating cukes until they come out of my ears.  And while it had only dropped into the mid 80’s, the humidity had dissipated and the wind had picked up.  As a result, it was unbelievably pleasant up there.  I brought my book up and read for while and then as the sun went down, plugged in the icicle lights that encircle my deck.  It’d been a long time since I’d done that so only about 30% were working.  I spent the next hour checking each strand and replacing bulbs, replacing strands that were beyond repair and reconfiguring the remaining ones.  Once finished, my deck was glowing quite nicely.  It was too dark to read so I brought up my laptop to see if my wi-fi reach this far.  I’ll be dog-goned if it didn’t.  I spent the few hours surfing and writing and listening to life in my neighborhood.  It even got chilly and I had to put on a sweater (see reference above).

It sounds silly to get jazzed about sitting outside but I’m not used to this kind of heat.  It really impacts my enjoyment of the wonderfulness that is Chicago in the summer.  I’ll make a deal with you Mother Nature, if you insist on pushing the mercury above 90 during the day, please provide me with nights like tonight.  They are truly magical.

Leave a Reply

