Pretty Good Progress

Today is the 4th of July.  I’m kind of dork when it comes to this day.   The parades make me smile, especially the one that just went down the street with tricycles, strollers and doggies on leashes all decked out in red, white and blue.  Patriotic music chokes me up.  It’s just something about the way the notes come together that really puts a lump in my throat.  And don’t even get me started when I see a Veteran wearing his uniform or his cap.  I can remember 34 years ago when we celebrated our bicentennial and how proud we all were. 200 years sounded like such a long time.  This was put into perspective when I spent the summer in France studying and I stayed in a hotel that was 107 years older than our country.  We really are such a young country.  And it is truly quite amazing how far we’ve come in those 234 years.  We went from being a scrapping colony to the only leading superpower in that time.  It took a lot of hard work, quite a bit of civil strife, tolerance and dedication to get to this point but here we are.  And we continue to evolve.  Which is ever so hopeful.  I am very proud of this country, warts and all.  We aren’t perfect, but we keep trying.

Makes you wonder, if this Titanic we call the United States can change that much in 234 years, what can one person do with the same hard work, tolerance and dedication to change their future?

Leave a Reply

