A subtle, but important, distinction

Today was an office day.  No auditions or appointments were scheduled so I was able to spend a substantial amount of time working in the office.  Now I will admit there was a bit of faffing about.  And by faffing, I mean goofing.  It’s a VO term that’s currently in vogue and is the name of an unconference being put together by a wonderful group of VO professionals.  All the details can be found here.  Faffcon isn’t the purpose of this post but didn’t I work it in nicely?

Instead I want to talk about the cold calling I’ve been doing.  I know, exciting stuff.  I’ve been trying to make as many contacts for my Voiceover business so today was a research and cold calling day.  I try to set a goal of so many cold calls each week.  I hit my goal for the week today and I still had several hours of the business day available.  I had a momentary thought that I would stop for the week and save some for next week.  But then I realized, this is exactly what I would have done when I was working in corporate and I no longer wanted to work that way.  I wanted to make as many contacts as I could because there would be more contacts in the pipeline.  Always more people to contact.  Why stop at the week’s goal?  So I didn’t.  I made a few more calls and plan on making some in the morning tomorrow.  I mentioned this to a friend of mine,Bob Souer, who said this was the difference in being an entrepreneur and a corporate drone.  When you work for yourself, you don’t want to leave any stone unturned, any opportunity overlooked.  And just because you hit  your goal, you don’t stop.  You keep the momentum up.  I used to do this when I was selling local television time.  Once I achieved my goal, I wanted to see how much over I could achieve.  It’s a great way to approach the business of finding new business.  And I have tomorrow to add to my number.  It’s all good.

11 Responses to “A subtle, but important, distinction”

  1. Liz de Nesnera - Bilingual English & French VO Says:

    Pam,
    This is SO true!
    As one of my mentors, Barbara Winter, says “It’s the difference between “Employee thinking & Entrepreneurial thinking.”
    Isn’t it GRAND?! 🙂

    Peace!

    Liz

  2. Dave DeAndrea Says:

    Pam,

    I’ve REALLY appreciated your last couple of posts…and your transparancy. It can be a tough biz and it does take a lot of hard work to be a repeat offender in the Success District.

    Your words offer a moment to reflect and inspiration to press on and press in all the more.

    Thanks, my friend. 🙂

  3. Philip Banks Says:

    Pam, you do something for your business because no other bugger is going to do it. May you enjoy ever increasing success.

    A few Saturdays ago a number of “I wannabee a succccesssfull voiceoverist” type people had a decision to make. They were all at VOICE2010. Choice; be in the same room as someone they considered famous or attend a session with a number of working pros who would, in effect, answer the question – Ok, what do I do on Monday when faced with an empty diary? Most chose to meet the famous guy.

    I think the 6 or 7 people who sat in the “go on..ask us” session may have walked away with some useful and possibly powerful information. The information was a TO DO list.

    We are Human Beings so we should spend time being.
    Waiting and thinking helps but only if it leads to “Wait! I think now is the time ….

    Time for what? To actually do something constructive.

    • Pam Tierney Says:

      And as one who sat in the on “go on…ask us” session, I did get together a to do list and have been to doing ever since! There is something to be said for watching what the famous people do and learning from them as you ascend, but you also need a solid foundation on which to build the castle. Thanks for your masonry work!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Does your trainer not count as an appointment in your world? We did meet on the 2nd right?

    Hahahahaha. I can’t resist the urge to give you a bit of a hard time. Happy 4th friend! 🙂

  5. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    No more drone for you!

    Be well,
    Bob

  6. Randye Kaye Says:

    oh yeah, Pam, I faffed about all day as well! But managed to download some of my on-camera work on youtube, find a converter so I can edit the clips in moviemaker, and oh yeah pick up my son. Now about to coach some VO students at Edge. Instead of hitting the gym, I end up hitting the web. Still – stuff gets done, right?

    have a great weekend –


Leave a Reply

