A Sparkle or a Smolder

For a long time now I’ve been struggling with my voice.  I know, it sounds silly.  After all, it’s something that is so intrinsically a part of us that how can it be a problem?  It’s kind of like my struggle with clothes.  I want to be a size 4 but in reality I’m not.  Probably never will be.  GRRRR.  And that’s not easy to accept.  But that’s a topic for another day.  With my voice, I’ve always longed to have that sultry, husky voice that I so admire in many female voice talents.  The kind that envelopes you in texture and feels all cashmere and warm.  And I do have that voice, in the morning before I warm up the vocal cords.  The problem is, I’ve been trying to make that my default voice and it’s not.  Trying to change my voice at this stage of the game isn’t a wise thing to do.  Not only is it like trying to change the hand you sign your name with, awkward at best, it can be dangerous to your vocal cords if try to make them do something you naturally aren’t supposed to do.  But I’ve been dinking around with placement for over a year and all I’ve managed to do it screw it up magnificently!  Any of you who’ve tried changing your golf swing know from whence I speak.  It’s brutal.  I finally came to the realization that I’m not and never will be that voice I so admire.  Sigh.

Just as I was getting used to this idea I was talking with a fellow voice talent, Philip Banks, and recounting this oh-so-tragic realization.  I am not and never will be a sultry voice, my voice is bright.  In his inimitable British way, Philip said “some people are a sparkle and some people are a smolder.  You are a sparkle.”  In those 15 words, Philip managed to take news I’d considered shattering and make it instead a wonderful thing.  I’m a sparkle.  Yes indeed I am.  Just like diamonds and emeralds and rubies.  Who doesn’t like a little glitter in their life?  Pretty dang cool.  All of the sudden I’m kinda happy about my voice, at least the one I used to have.  I just need to find it again.  Maybe it’s in that drawer I’m afraid of opening.  All I know is, I’m a lot more content with the voice I was blessed with that I was 30 minutes ago.  And excited to see where it can take me.  It just took some mental adjustments accompanied by a long distance kick in the pants.  Thanks Philip.

7 Responses to “A Sparkle or a Smolder”

  1. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    That Philip Banks is a really smart cookie, isn’t he?

    Be well,
    Bob

  2. Pam Tierney Says:

    Isn’t he though? Let’s not tell him we think that, who knows what such knowledge will do to him!

  3. Philip Banks Says:

    Head rested gently on a pillow, eyes sparkling in the moonlight. It’s 1am so you dare not raise your voice. There’s something you really have to say. Who needs to find the smoulder when your quiet, intimate sparkle will captivate your audience of one?

  4. Anthony Mendez Says:

    I like sparkle. Sparkle is pretty. Sultry is so 90s. Philip is good.

  5. J. Christopher Dunn Says:

    When I was in radio (80’s), girly folk had one of two sounds. Cheerleader or smoking slut. I think if I were a girly folk, I would want to be a Cheerleader. Ya, me!

  6. rob Says:

    Love your comments, but a quibble, are thee cords or folds?


Leave a Reply

