Inertia

I’ll admit it.  I’m lazy.  I would rather stay in bed or on the couch all day.  I hate that I have to exercise to get healthy and feel good.  I want my hair to look perfect everyday with no effort at all.  And I would trade my right arm for the ability to beam myself from one place to another, or at least Samantha Stevens nose wrinkle myself to another place with perfection.  Alas, this is not to be.  But I fight the inertia urge every single day.  On some days, it’s every single moment of the day.  It is all I can do to virtually and physically put one foot in front of the other to continue the minute forward progress I try to achieve with each day.  Especially when I’m not getting feedback on what I’m putting out there.  That’s the funny thing about auditioning.  You just put it out to the universe, either on video or audio tape, and you just let it go.  You’ll rarely if ever get any feedback on how you did.  Unless of course you are hired.  That’s always interesting to explain to “civilians”.  They always eagerly ask about how it’s going and what I’ve done recently.  I’ll usually mention the latest thing I auditioned for which is followed up by their well meaning “when are you going to hear back about it?”  That’s the rub.  I won’t hear about it.  I’ll know when the recording date passes and I’ve not been contacted.

So I keep plugging along, in a Sisyphean manner, rolling my rock up the hill every day.  He did it without hope of ever reaching the top, a punishment for his egotistical belief that he was smarter than Zeus.  I do have hope of reaching the top one day but in the meantime, I must roll my big boulder of inertia off before I can start forward.  Ah…to be able to say “Beam me up Scotty”.

One Response to “Inertia”

  1. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    All I can say is “busted,” because whether you realize it or not (except for the part about the hair) you’re talking about me here.

    Be well,
    Bob


Leave a Reply

