Studio Shoes

One of the great things about working from home is the ability to wear whatever you want to get the work done.  No one knows what you are clothed in and no one really cares, as long as you get the job done.  So for the most part, I jump out of bed, shower and put on something comfortable, right down to my shoes.  I really didn’t give what I was wearing much thought, after all, I figured it was an achievement to get out of my pj’s.  Recently I started working with a voiceover coach, Marice Tobias, who believes everything in your life affects what your voice delivers.  The clothes you wear, what you had for lunch, the argument you got in with your cable company, the shoes you wear.  It’s an interesting thought.  One I hadn’t really considered before.

I put this to the test recently when I was attending one of Marice’s workshops in Chicago.  She’d mentioned the shoe thing when I went on a retreat in February with an amazing group of women.  I was thrilled-finally I could deduct my shoes as a business expense!  Lots of laughter when I proclaimed as such.  On Sunday of this most recent workshop, I brought a pair of what I call my “limousine shoes”.  They’re shoes with really high heels that should never be walked in but can safely be worn while riding in a limousine to the next event where I’ll simply stand in one spot, thus avoiding any potential foot pain or ankle injury.  We were reading promotional scripts for television shows and I did my first read in the flats I’d worn to the studio but for the second read, I put on the black 4 1/2 inch snakeskin pumps with brass studs along the vamp.  Believe it or not, it really did make a difference, the engineer even heard it and commented on it.  Here’s a link to what I mean.  The second one has a heck of a lot more sass and attitude about it.

All this of course is one big rationalization for a recent purchase of way-too-expensive beautiful pale green tinged with gold snakeskin 4-inch pumps that now reside on my studio desk just waiting to be called in to action.  And I’ve really used them a few times.  Maybe someday they’ll see action at an event but for now, I’m trying to decide if this is a studio expense or an acting expense.

5 Responses to “Studio Shoes”

  1. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    What a dramatic difference in your read. Thank you for sharing that audio. And how cool that you get to expense the shoes!

    Be well,
    Bob

  2. voxmarketising - the audio'connell blog and podcast Says:

    […] Pam’s example, and to quote the always quotable Mars Blackmon: “It’s gotta be the shoes!” […]

  3. Mary McKitrick Says:

    Pam, this is so funny and wonderful!

    After one of Marice’s workshops, I traded my clodhoppers for a pair of sleek, short leather boots for an audition. I got the gig and now I keep those boots in my booth (since I certainly can’t walk in ’em!).

  4. pump up your voice over performance | Voices Of Advertising Says:

    […] Pam’s example, and to quote the always quotable Mars Blackmon: “It’s gotta be the […]


Leave a Reply

