New Horizons

A few weekends ago I took part in a VoiceOver workshop taught by Marice Tobias.  I’ve just started working with her this past year and as with each good coach I work with, I take away something new every time.  Not just all the really great talent I meet at these workshops, and let me tell you I’ve been in the midst of some of the stars in our business who are amongst the most generous I could hope to meet, but I often leave with a completely new perspective.  One I hadn’t considered before.  And it’s not like I’m making vast and dramatic changes like all of the sudden switching from being left-handed to right handed, or to actually liking mushrooms, or to speaking Latin as my primary language.  These are the subtlest of changes to my delivery, my approach.  The interesting result of these tweaks is once I am done incorporating them into my process, I look up to find a brand new horizon in front of me.  Not that the old one was bad.  But this new one is a result of a refinement to the path I’d been on before and now was no longer traveling.  That’s the cool thing about learning.  Once you learn something, you can’t go back to not knowing it.  Your perspective is forever changed.  It can be a bit uncomfortable, always having to adjust your vision, but this is far outweighed by the opportunities that stretch out before you as far as the horizon.  And the exciting thing is realizing this horizon is in front of you for a brief time, that there is another equally amazing horizon to come.  And another.  And another.  You just have to keep embracing the tweaks and the changes they bring.  Now that’s cool.

Leave a Reply

