Pay an Expert

I’ve been banging away at my voiceover career for several years now with moderate success.  When I was working full time, it was hard to commit to 2 different aspects-on camera and voiceover-of the same career.  Serving more than 2 masters isn’t easy so the VO was put somewhat on the back burner.  That all changed last May when I left the corporate world.  I could finally focus full time on VO.  Which also meant I had to be my own audio engineer a lot more.  I might as well have been splitting the atom for all I knew about being an audio engineer.  That didn’t stop me though.  I did some things with the equalizer and figured that should do the trick.  I blithely sent off audition after audition.  After a while I started wondering that the deal was.  I wasn’t getting hired off of these auditions.  Hmmm.  Maybe I needed to work more on my performance.  So I did.  And still nada.

Finally about a week ago I got some feedback from an agent that my auditions weren’t up to snuff.  I was devastated.  Maybe this wasn’t for me.  She sent one back to one of my VO coaches, Nancy Wolfson, for her opinion.  Nancy copied me on her response to the agent that while the performance was on target, this was most certainly not up to audio technical standards and I needed to get the help of an audio engineer STAT.  I was incredibly relieved.  This was fixable.  It wasn’t my performance, it was everything else.  I contacted George Whittam at Eldorec Studios who’s a great engineer and after he used this cool program to get into my computer, he tweaked a few of my settings and Voila!  I sound like I’m supposed to sound, not like a hamster on helium.  Instantly I went from not even being in the running to being finalists for several jobs.  Best money I’ve spent this year.  What a difference it made.

The moral of this story is when your business depends on something that you do not have any knowledge about, find an expert and pay them for their time to get you back on track doing whatever it is that you are an expert at.  You’ll be thankful you invested in your business that way.

2 Responses to “Pay an Expert”

  1. George Whittam Says:

    Pam:

    The last paragraph of your blog post is such an important lesson. It’s something that I’ve taken a very long time to learn myself. We can all be penny wise, pound foolish at times, especially in our current economy that creates the impression that we are going to be losing money no how much work we put in. Use your experts, I know I do now!
    Thanks for the kind words…

    George Whittam


Leave a Reply

