Back to Basics

As you know I’m an actress as well as a voicetalent.  I very often audition outside of my home but I also have a fully equipped home studio where I audition and record jobs from.  This is a wonderful improvement as my commute used to be 25 minutes driving and then walking about 1800 steps each way to get ot my office.  Now I just walk about 17 steps to my studio.  This has wrecked havoc on my daily goal of walking 10000 steps for my health but I’ve adjusted by adding a run now that the weather has finally broken.

So my day is spent, when I am able, auditioning for various voiceover jobs from my home studio.  I record, edit and email them off to various places and hope that people like what they hearand hire me to voice their job.  I get my auditions from various places-a few agents, some online sites and from a coach of mine, Nancy Wolfson.  Once they are sent off, I don’t think about them again unless I am awarded the job.  Except this time.  Fortunately Nancy followed up with the submission and found out that while my performance was spot on, technically what I’d sent in wasn’t up to standards.  To a layperson, what this means is since I would be recording the job in my studio and then sending it off to the client, this technical failure would eliminate me from consideration as it wasn’t up to broadcast standards.

One of the things that has occurred in this transition is I’ve had to become a wearer of many hats.  One of those hats is I’ve had to learn all about is audio production.  And quite frankly, all I’ve mastered is how to turn the dang equipment on.  I’ve done some other things but it’s like trying to do surgery having only cut a steak.  I really shouldn’t be allowed to touch the equipment.  It’s too dangerous!  Fortunately my friend Bob took pity on me and gave me some settings that I could lock into my system and process my auditions using these settings.  I also put up some additional sound absorption panels in my studio which should help the overall sound in the room.  I think the problem has been reduced somewhat.  Time will tell.

I’ve been so concerned with my performance recently that I overlooked a very basic requirement.  One that can eliminate you right away but is so easily fixed.  Thank heavens Nancy followed up and forwarded to me what she learned.  Otherwise I’d still be sending out a good performance that no one could hear. Paying attention to details like this are so important and shouldn’t be taken for granted.  It’s back to audio 101 for me.

One Response to “Back to Basics”

  1. Philip Banks Says:

    All things being equal everything will sounds equally good. One thing being unequal everything will sound equally bad.


Leave a Reply

