Ain’t too proud…

Not to beg as the song intones.  But recently I’ve been hired by a fellow voice talent to direct him on several long form projects.  For those not in the Voiceover business, long form in narration could be anything from an audiobook to e-learning to a documentary.  These scripts can be very dense and very often contain complicated language.  Usually the project needs to be sent to the client in an edited form with all the correct pronunciations.  Another set of ears on the audio and eyes on the script allow fixes to be made right away, eliminating the need to go back and insert a fix, all the while trying to match the sound and flow of the original recording.  It’s much easier and better to correct as you go.

Anywho, Bob Souer is the voice talent who hired me.  In the midst of this big project he was being interviewed by Kristine Oller for one of her wonderful coffee date interviews.  His VO business has grown so much he’s had to reach out for help and I was fortunate to be the one he contacted.  He was telling me about the call and said that while he talked about the assistance I was providing, he’d kept my identity anonymous.  His reason for doing this was he wasn’t sure if I wanted everyone to know I was directing him.  While I appreciated him protecting my privacy, my thought was I have no problem with people knowing I was working for him.  I am a big believer in there is dignity in any work and if I can help a fellow VO meet a tight deadline, I’m more than happy to do so.  Besides I’m learning a lot, not just about the stuff he’s recording, but also how he records and tells the story.  And he is paying me for my time.  We used to say in my former television sales life when a piece of biz would come in from a less than marquee client, that their money was as green as everyone else’s.  It spends and saves the same way.

Do I want to do this all the time?  No, that wasn’t my purpose in leaving full time corporate work to pursue a freelance creative life.  But part of that freelance life is that work will come from many different sources at different times.  That’s the exciting part.  And if part of my work comes from directing and not performing, that’s perfectly fine with me.  I’m not too proud to accept that work.  Actors who direct always get better as actors.  This serves my learning process as well as serving my financial process.  In your quest to create a new business life for yourself, don’t overlook adjunct ways to earn and learn that push your  success even further.  Be wise in how your spend your time as it is a limited resource but don’t let pride get in the way of a good experience.

4 Responses to “Ain’t too proud…”

  1. Sheila Telleria Says:

    Thanks for sharing, I found this story while surfing for music news updates, thoughtful comments and good points made.

  2. Liz de Nesnera - Bilingual English & French VO Says:

    Pam,
    I totally agree!
    I am hired occasionally as a French “monitor” by a NYC studio for other French voice talent.
    It’s exactly what you’re doing for Bob, but for French recording sessions.

    What’s fun is that there are several of us that are both French voice talents and monitors so I often get to monitor my friends, ….or they get to monitor me as the occasion arises!

    Just like you with Bob!

    BONUS! 🙂

    Keep on keepin’ on! 🙂

    Peace!

    Liz

  3. Amy Snively Says:

    Heck, I’d scrub Bob Souer’s sink!

  4. Working with family and friends | Voices Of Advertising Says:

    […] takes a good bit of her time, too. So, as a result, I’ve reached out beyond just my family. Pam Tierney wrote on her blog about her experience directing me on a large project with some very tight […]


Leave a Reply

