The Rookie

The other day a rarity happened to me.  I had a day, it was actually the first one in 37 days and only the third one since January 1st, that I didn’t have anything scheduled outside the house.  No rehearsals, no auditions, no travels, no filming, no workshops, no errands to run.  I couldn’t believe it when I saw the break in my schedule.  I am very grateful for all the activity but sometimes just having an entire day uninterrupted is so needed and welcomed.  I allowed myself to sleep in, relishing that I didn’t have to answer to an alarm in the morning.  Even when I awoke, I didn’t jump out of bed, instead I flipped on the TV to see what the weather was offering for the day.  I surfed for a while and ended up on a movie channel showing the film The Rookie.  It’s based on the true story of Jim Morris, a high school baseball coach who, due to injury, failed earlier in his life to make it in baseball.  At age 35, in an effort to inspire his players to win their divisional championships, he said he’d try out again and went to the open tryouts of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays.  That day, he was able to throw a dozen 98 mph fastballs which earned him a spot in their double-A farm team.  He soon went up to triple-A and before the season was out, was called up to the bigs.  His first fame was in his home state of Texas with his family and friends watching him as he pitched for a win.  He was able to pitch for 2 years before he old injury returned and he retired to teach once again.

The story really hit home.  I’m always on the lookout for examples of people who made career switches late in life.  Those people that had the courage to take a huge risk when they knew how far they could fall.  Perhaps I’m looking for more like me.  Examples that were successful.  Leaders that came before me and conquered all odds to follow their dreams. I’m not as scared as I once was but that doesn’t a little encouragement goes a long way.

5 Responses to “The Rookie”

  1. Peter K. O'Connell Says:

    Encouragement, huh?

    OK, you’re smart, you’re talented and you’re beautiful.

    Now turn off the damn TV and get back to work.

    Best always,
    – Peter

  2. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    As you pointed out the other day, 29 months since you took a serious start at this journey. Look how far you’ve traveled in that short time. Have you reached all your goals yet? No, of course not. But, you’re making progress every day. Even on the days when you get to sleep in a bit.

    In not too many more years I expect it will be your story that will be one that offers encouragement to others. Keep up the good word.

    Oh, and what Peter said. X2!

    Be well,
    Bob


Leave a Reply

