Colorado Quiet

Winter has finally come to Chicago with a vengeance.  It’s been snowing off and on for several days.  It’s not really sticking because Lake Michigan is still pretty warm so the air temperature makes the snow melt.  We’ve been enjoying the global warming effect for the month of November.  Temps were in the upper 40’s-low 50’s the entire month.  Golfers were out in force on all the public courses well into December.  They’re wired a little different than the rest of us but it was pretty warm.

All this is coming to an end this week.  First the snow and then the wind and falling temps will come screaming in.  But the snow has been wonderful.  I’m always surprised at how much it quiets the world as it falls.  I’ve named it Colorado quiet because that was the first place I became aware of how magical the silence was.  And how calm and focused I have become in the quiet.  Winter has never been one of my favorite seasons because having to commute in it can really break your spirit.  But this year I’m working from home so no nasty commute or walking across the Michigan Avenue bridge in 35 MPH winds.  Maybe I’ll truly come to appreciate this season and it’s beauty.  I know I truly appreciate the silence.

Leave a Reply

