Tater Tots for breakfast

Yes you read that right.  I said Tater Tots for breakfast.  I’m out of eggs, having scrambled my last ones before I left for New York for the weekend.  I keep forgetting to stop at the store to pick up more.  I know what you’re thinking, “seriously, she can’t remember to go to the grocery store?!” so let me explain.  I live behind a grocery store.  Or at least I used to before they closed it to tear it down and rebuild it.  Just like Steve Austin, “we can rebuild him, make him better, stronger, faster”.  In just 18 short months, I’ll have a bionic grocery store.  Or 18 take forever months if you are trying to record on a very sensitive microphone and every beep and vibration from the big dig gets picked up for posterity.  But I digress.

Like I said, I’m out of eggs.  And because for 16 years, I’ve walked out my back door through the parking lot to my grocers, I can’t seem to remember to stop at the store.  I’m stuck in a rut, an old way of doing something and I haven’t made the conscious change in my mind.  That’s the step I’m missing, the conscious change part.  That’s the hardest step to take because we create shortcuts in our lives and brains to get through the myriad of tasks that need to be accomplished in any given day.  It’s the one thing that needs to happen to create any sort of self revolution.  Rather a dramatic statement.  Weren’t we just talking about eggs?

I’ll try to remember to stop tonight on my way home tonight.  But just in case I have more tater tots in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

