Verbal recycling

Ran into a bit of a problem the other night.  I was most happy to be invited to a friend and her husbands house for dinner and got to meet her parents.  I love going to this house because they have two Brittany Spaniels who’s noses are just the right height to rest them on your knees while we were eating.  I miss that.  Anywho, it was the first time I’d met her parents so all my stories and material was new to them.  However, my friend was a regular reader of this blog.  Which I love but which also presented me with a problem.  I never realized how much I recycled my stories and anecdotes.  I’d written 2 postings before I left for their house.  Not normally something I’d take note of but I was deep in the middle of a story when I realized I’d used it for the blog post.  And now it was going to be a repeat to my friend.  I was airing reruns just like the networks do in August.  This kind of stopped me cold as I pride myself on being able to talk to anyone about pretty much anything.  One of the many skills picked up over years of sales.  But since my circles and acquaintances rarely overlapped, I was able to get lots of mileage out of my observations and one liners.  Now I was in jeopardy of becoming a verbal cliche.  Horrors!  I guess I’ll have to keep pushing myself and keeping in mind who I’ve told what to because everyone knows the ratings go down when repeats are on.  Hope I can withstand the pressure of it all.

Leave a Reply

