Green Lights

I just read a statistic that just sent me into a tizzy.  The average person loses 2 weeks of their life waiting for a light to turn green.  Can you imagine?  2 weeks of your life gone while at a complete standstill waiting to be given permission to get on with your life.  One doesn’t think about the 40 seconds here, 75 seconds there, or if you  live in Chicago and there are no left turn lanes on any street, 4 minutes every time you approach an intersection.  But those seconds add up and then you have some real time.  Basically a really nice vacation you can’t take because you are sitting at a light.  I’m not sure where I’m going with this rant, other than to encourage physicists, engineers and mathematicians to hurry up and perfect a transporter for heaven’s sake.  Maybe just to make sure I don’t waste any of those precious seconds available to us in our lifetime.  They could be used for learning, progressing, loving, laughing and just plain living.

Now that I’m working from home most of the time, maybe my average will go down.  But I do have to admit, I’m the chick in the next car putting on her makeup and mascara.  Hey, 4 minutes is all I need!

Leave a Reply

