The Word Monster

I think I’ve created a monster.  What started off in obscurity as a “let’s see if I can keep up with this” has quickly become something quite different.  I don’t want to call it a burden or a responsibility or a duty because of the negative connotations those words sometimes have.  But I have come to realize that in creating this blog that way I have, starting it off as a daily feed, in essence I created for my readers, all 4 of you, mostly family mind you, a expectation of what was to come.  Sorry for all the comma splices in the previous sentence.  Anywho, by posting daily, I informed the readers that this would continue to be a daily endeavor.  And when I started, it was an easy task to keep up and even ahead of.  But with time and other responsibilities and brain drain and you name it, I wasn’t as daily as I had started out to be.  And I have no one to blame but myself, I set up the rules and I allowed them to be broken.  I made a commitment I wasn’t keeping up with. I’m disappointed at this turn of events.  I had every intention of staying at least one day ahead.  But the road to heaven is paved with good intentions right?  And the minutes turn to hours turn to the next day and crap!  I got nothin.

I’m reminded of the movie Little Shop of Horror when the giant plant Audrey II keeps wailing to Seymour Krelborn (Rick Moranis) “feed me, FEED ME!”.  She is insatiable in her constant need to feed.  Just like the fact that the next day will come and another post needs to be created.  But I made a commitment, and commitments need to be honored.  Otherwise where would we be?  Being eaten by a giant plant that’s where.  Not a fate I want to share.  Now where was I?

3 Responses to “The Word Monster”

  1. Erin Maurer Says:

    I spy a dangling preposition, word Nazi 🙂 Just thought I’d give you a chuckle. Keep churning out the blogs posts. They are enjoyable!

  2. Pam Tierney Says:

    I take poetic license because writers can do that.

  3. Erin Maurer Says:

    that’s not fair! I want that exemption!


Leave a Reply

