Too much of a good thing

Several weeks ago I mentioned I was working my way through my iPod’s long list of music with some fun and interesting juxtapositions.  I’m still on the B’s, having never really realized just how many artists there are with name’s that begin with a B.  Or how prolific those “B” artist are.  Not just the Beatles and all their album iterations, but Bob Marley, Bob Seger, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony and of course Bon Jovi.  Since I am insisting on listening to all 5970 songs in my catalogue alphabetically, my entire run can sometimes be musiced, not really a word but it is now, by the same artist.  The other morning, with apologies to my sister and SIL who are BIG fans, I’d had just about enough of Bon Jovi.  I fast forwarded through all the remaining songs sung by the group and was never happier than when the sultry tones of Bonnie Raitt filled my ear buds and was followed up by the throaty voice of Bonnie Tyler.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Bob Marley, Bob Seger and Bon Jovi, not so much Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, just not their entire body of work all at once.  I needed to have some other artists and genre’s interspersed throughout so I could listen to them in contrast to another.  I’m still going to work my way through the iPod alphabetically, although I am going to skip the 5-600 French vocabulary and phrases, but once I’m done with that, I’ll be on perma shuffle mode.  After all, variety is the spice of life.

Leave a Reply

