The sound of silence

One of the biggest fears I had when I was planning to leave the corporate world, of course not knowing at the time the corporate world was going to leave me, was that I would become addicted to television.  It would be on all the time and I would get sucked into watching Rudy for the 90th time.  That movie always makes me cry. Or I would end up watching a reality show about someone else’s fabulous existence.  And instead of living my life, I would become a passive observer of another’s carefully edited life.  So this year for Lent I gave up TV cold turkey.  Not an easy thing to do as it was just as the latest season of Lost was starting up.  Thank heaven for DVR’s!  But I stuck to it and learned I could live without that which provided me my living.  Which is a scary thought in and of itself.  What if other people found that out?  Where would my job be then?  Well, that question was answered for me!

But I often turn to media for ideas on what to write and this morning was no exception.  I had the television on in my hotel room while I was getting ready and the pundits were in full chorus.  Nothing was coming to me and it all sounded like so much babble.  With that, off went the power button.  The silence that enveloped the room was wonderful.   And a funny thing happened.  The ideas started coming fast and furious.  It took shutting off the cacophony to start the symphony in my brain.  I’m always humbled when that happens.  I am reminded that my ideas are just as strong, relevant and insightful as anyone who has the floor.  I should be listening to my own thoughts instead of letting someone do my thinking for me.  Popular culture and news are very important in our world and have a legitimate place at the table.  But in the conversation that is uniquely mine, their voice mustn’t become a lecture that drowns out my own voice.

I also gave up sweets for Lent and was successful…for the 40 days I had to be.  Then it was back on the Sugarland Express!

2 Responses to “The sound of silence”

  1. Bob Souer Says:

    Pam,

    My best friend in high school, Rick Olson, and I used to do that son as a duet. Always been one of my favorites. And yes, you do have much to say. I’m really glad you’ve found your voice and I enjoy your posts, very much.

    Be well,
    Bob

  2. Pam Tierney Says:

    I know isn’t that a wonderful song? I am truly enjoying discovering my voice.


Leave a Reply

