New Attitude

One of the many resources I’ve become familiar with is Seth Godin‘s amazing marketing blog.  The succinctness of his writing is mind boggling.  His ability to put an idea forth clearly and precisely is one I strive to achieve.  I recently read a post of his about the steps in planning any sort of project, task or goal and the emphasis that is placed on the execution instead of the planning.  I know this contradicts my earlier musing about getting started with writing this blog-to quit talking about it and just do it for Pete’s sake- but what he says made complete sense to me.  You see, I’m the type that doesn’t want to waste time reading the how-to-assemble directions, I’ll just figure it out as I go.  I’m smart, I don’t need to memorize that copy, I’ll just wing it.  I don’t need to practice my golf swing, I’m sure it will come back with no problem.  After all I’ve been playing since I was 8. So what if I haven’t shagged a bag of balls in over 2 years, how bad can I get?  So I stumble forth with dreams of supreme success in my eyes and instead I end up either failing or having it take twice as long to get accomplished.  Then I have the audacity to get ticked off when whatever it is I’m trying to do ends up being a complete disaster.

Well thanks to Seth’s blog and Madame LaBelle, I’ve tidied up my point of view.  I’ve got a new attitude.  I recognize that I have to respect what it is I am trying to accomplish.  Within that respect comes the new attitude towards the task at hand and an approach that will help ensure my success.  No longer will I just jump in and expect amazing results.  Establishing the correct attitude and the appropriate approach may not be as sexy to talk about as the execution, but the results that are achieved from this way of thinking will be the payoff.

Go ahead, try to forget that song.  You know you can’t.  So how about a new attitude?

Leave a Reply

