Vegetables

Asparagus, Broccoli, Cauliflower.  Or in my house growing up, trees, bushes and brains.  I hated all of them, the smell, the texture, the taste.  My mom insisted we at least try them because she wasn’t running a short order kitchen and we had to eat what she fixed.  I guess when you have 7 mouths to feed, you’d say that too.  We couldn’t leave the table until we had one bite and boy I could sit there all night in that battle.  It was Godzilla versus the Smog Monster and I was determined to win.  I’m sure the fact that my Dad hated them as well didn’t help her cause.  She stopped short of force feeding me but she usually prevailed.  Mom’s are good at that.

Now that I’m an adult, I have no one to force me to do anything, no one to help me see the benefits of what I don’t want to do, no one to answer to.  So when I don’t want to run that day, no one knows but me.  But a strange thing has happened.  I’ve found a bit of a silver lining in all that exertion.  Getting out of the house and out of my routine, I usually get inspired with an idea for a post, something I want to share.  It hasn’t made me look forward to running but it has allowed me to dread it less.  I am excited by the thought I will come up with something new.  I still have to force myself to get started but it’s a little less effort now.  It made me think about what else I do that I don’t relish and how I could find something, anything positive about it.  So I don’t hate it quite so much the next time.  And maybe, just maybe, I’d start to like it.

As for the vegetables, turns out I actually like asparagus and I’ll eat cauliflower if it’s raw.  But broccoli?  Can’t stand the stuff, never have, never will.  Blech.

2 Responses to “Vegetables”

  1. Stacie Says:

    Pam – I had to laugh as I read this. We called brussels sprouts “martian heads” as my grandmother presented them for Sunday dinner in Muncie many times a year. Not that we didn’t eat them, but I’m sure not all five of us did. Remarkably, many of us like them and eat them now, and they are still known as martian heads in the Cumberland family.


Leave a Reply

